Who Is Hope?

This is in the About section, but it seems to be overlooked. I guess on Blogs I do not always look at the About section either. So this is how Reclaiming My Narnia came to be.

Behind my parents home are the best woods. Growing up in southern Georgia, the outdoors was my playroom along with my siblings and the neighborhood children. We had the most entertaining times. It was as you see on the tv shows from the 70s, as soon as the sun came up we were outside, after dark we were being called home. We loved life in our little neighborhood. It was safe.

Whether we were climbing the mimosa tree, tenderly nicknamed “the climbing tree”, raking up straw to create our imaginary homes and neighborhoods, walking around to “feed the aligators” in the mud puddles after a rain. No gators were in the puddles, we just had a great time playing together. I remember one fall all of us chasing a woodrat through the brush. Oh the adventures we enjoyed. I am sure some of the animals around did not have near as much fun as we did. One poor turtle or gofer ended up with a blue shell, years later we saw him again someone else has tagged him with red paint too. I often through the years called the woods My Narnia. They were just magical. If you could imagine it, it could happen there.

Just as in C.S. Lewis’ novel, evil entered my beloved Narnia. It was not a great White Witch as in the novels, but instead the perverted mind of one of my playmates. He sexually abused me when I was 5 or 6. During and right after the abuse I blocked it from my mind completely. I had no memory of this experience until I was 39 and in therapy for severe depression and anxiety. I began having flashbacks to the abuse.

I refuse to let the darkness stay in my Narnia, my Narnia then or my Narnia now. I am currently in counselling for PTSD, depression, and anxiety. I have always wanted to do a blog and thought that I would do one on couponing, never ever on this, but if my experience helps one person then that will be my legency and part of claiming my Narnia and help them reclaim theirs!

***I will not be using my name or the name of any of my family and friends. If you comment please call my husand “Jethro”. He chose his own name, and call me “Hope”.

Contact: reclaimingmynarnia@gmail.com

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

