Fresh Courage Take

“Gird up your loins; fresh courage take.
Our God will never us forsake;
And soon we’ll have this tale to tell—
All is well! All is well!”

Yes, lyrics from another song running through my mind at 5:20 this morning, The song, Come, Come Ye Saints. I have been awake since before 2:00. Restless and pensive.

Earlier this morning I logged onto Facebook and found a post by a friend. She had updated her blog. As I read this dear lady’s words, my heart wept with her. She shared her story about being sexually abused as a child.

She told her story and gave the statistics. 1 in 3 girls, 1 in 5 boys are sexually abused. I cannot help but wonder if that number is not higher because of chilldren like I was, that blocked it out completely.

As hard as it is hearing that another of my friends went through this as child, and still continues healing today, I am grateful for her courage to speak out. I am grateful for the voice she gives to other survivors. She was able to put into words many of the feelings that I have not been able to yet. I may ask if I can reblog her post, but for now, I am going to turn off this Ipad and TRY to sleep.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

