Ball Parks Aren’t Where I Need To Be

My 10 year old nephew played his last baseball game of the season yesterday. Raw nerves and all, I ventured out to support him. He plays for a local church that has opened a league to the community. They have a great athletic program and also minister of Christ. It is a nice change from rec ball. You do not have the bickering, it is really uplifting, while the kids learn ball.

Yesterday however, one of the loud mouth rec rude dads must have made his way into the park. Nothing our kids, or the coaches could do was right. The gloves, bats, etc. were not uniform to code. What in the world were they doing putting a left-handed kid on 2nd base? Well, that “kid” was my nephew. Actually everything my nephew did was wrong in his eyes, he likes to steal bases. He is pretty good at it, and egged on by his coaches. My nerves already on edge, I kept fuming to my patient Mother beside me about the loud mouth barbarian Father. To tell you the truth really wished I had one of those not to code bats and could placed it squarely in his not to code head!! Let me work out some agression.

I went to the concession and got some ice to chew on instead. I still grumbled because he would not shut up! Finally my hero, a woman sitting in front of him turned around and said, “They are doing this out of the goodness of their hearts. This is not rec ball”. She asked him to stop being so negative. After the game I went up to her and thanked her for speaking up. She said she was the wife of one of the coaches and he was talking about her husband. She felt bad for saying something, I told her not to be, he needed to be put in his place.

I still think my bat would have worked too, though it might not have done very good in the ministering department.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

2 thoughts on “Ball Parks Aren’t Where I Need To Be

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

