Feeling your Feelings.

This is so true.

Shedding Light on Darkness

It sounds so simple, yet so many of us regularly deny the way we feel.

For far too long, I’ve swallowed my feelings and pretended not to feel what I really feel through avoidance and denial. I have slowly started to learn to recognise when I am denying or avoiding.

I often clean when I’m upset, sometimes it’s merely to help me ground myself (more on that later), but also it’s a way of trying to avoid my feelings, particularly of fear and pain. Anger and tears often accompany my obsessive cleaning. Hardly a successful way to escape my feelings is it?

There are other behaviours too. The one I have relied on the most as a short term coping mechanism, is pretense. I pretend I feel the opposite of what I really feel. I’ve pretended for so long, that it has become natural to such an extent that a…

View original post 364 more words

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

2 thoughts on “Feeling your Feelings.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

