Angels Among Us & Individual Worth

I am of infinite worth with my own divine mission, which I will strive to fulfill.

20130526-201116.jpg

Lots and lots of tears today. One brother spoke on trust today at Church. Trust. Always an issue for me. Trusting those I should not, not trusting those I should. After Church I asked him if I could speak to him. We talked for a while.

In our Church, the Young Women have values they memorize and employ in their every day lives. He asked if I remembered the Young Women’s theme. We recited every Sunday when I was a teenager and again when I was called as a Young Women’s leader. It easily rolled off my tongue.

We are daughters of a Heavenly Father who loves us, and we love Him. We will stand as witnesses of God at all times, in all things, and in all places as we strive to live the Young Women’s values which are:

Faith

Divine Nature

Individual Worth

Knowledge

Choice and Accountability

Good Works

and

Integrity…

He then asked me about my individual worth. Something that I seem to have forgotten about. What he reminded me was that my worth was not linked to anything that happens here on earth. My rapist cannot dim my infinte worth, nor can my health problems. Yes, these are trials of this life.—Awful, hard gut wrenching trials, do not effect my worth. I am a daughter of Heavenly Father.

As part of learning the values, we associated each value with a color. Faith-White, Divine Nature-Blue, Individual Worth-Red, Knowledge-Green, Choice and Accountability-Orange, Good Works-Yellow, and Integrity-Purple. Just as our awful memories have triggers, seeing these colors, after learning and studying about them triggered our minds to each of the values.

This brother suggested that I create my own trigger for Individual Worth. I think I am going to create a red knotted friendship bracelet. I could not find my embroidery thread last night. Our hopes is that when I look at the bracelet throughout the day I will be reminded of my infinite worth, and be able to dispell the self abasing thoughts that I have throughout the day. Cling to the knowledge that I am of infinite worth.

“I want to tell you, each and every one of you, that you are well acquainted with God our Heavenly Father….for there is not a soul of you but what has lived in His house and dwelt with Him year after year; and yet you are seeking to become acquainted with Him, when the fact is, you have merely forgotten what you did know. There is not a person here today but what is a son or a daughter of that Being.” -Brigham Young

“You were preserved to come to the earth in this time for a special purpose. Not just a few of you, but all of you. There are things for each of you to do that no one else can do as well as you–If you will let Him, I testify that our Father in Heaven will walk with you through the journey of life and inspire you to know your special purpose here.” -H. Burke Peterson

I am very grateful Heavenly Father sent this Brother to our congregation today. He spoke words that comforted me, words that could have only been known through the Spirit as he listened intently and was His mouthpiece during a Priesthood Blessing. Through him Heavenly Father answered some of my secret pleading prayers, in words that I could not only hear, but feel.

I know His angels are around me, but I firmly believe He sends us angels in the flesh sometimes too, that is what He did today. He knew I needed it. My spirit need a reprieve, and guidance from someone not closely involved.

He is a mindful Father.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

2 thoughts on “Angels Among Us & Individual Worth

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

