Truth About Carrots

20130527-074135.jpg

“Take a carrot for an example. When you grate it, it’s still a carrot. You can cook it, grate it, chop it, boil it, mash it. You can do what you want to it, but it never STOPS being a carrot and nothing in the world can stop it from being one. Yes, it’s been changed, yes it’s different now, and yes it was tasty before it was changed. But then again, it’s still tasty after it was changed, no matter what you’ve done to it. Heck, you can even make carrot cake, and that is pretty darn tasty! NOTHING in the world can change who you are unless you let it. Hard times and strife… sometimes it just shows you who you really are, how versatile you are. If you had never cooked that carrot, you wouldn’t know that it could taste like that; you’d think it would just have that one taste, but it doesn’t. Strife, hard times, show us who we really are. It doesn’t change you. All it does is show another side of you that you may not have seen before. We just need to see that.

Grate me, Chop me, Peal me, Boil me, or make me into a carrot cake; I am still going to be me, and NOTHING will ever change that.” (Catt –March 2009 Pandy’s Newsletter)

20130527-074536.jpg

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

