In the Now

If you’ve never experienced the joy of accomplishing more than you can imagine, plant a garden. ~Robert Brault

20130528-200206.jpg

I saw my Therapist today. Her challenge and my goal is to stay in the here and now. Notice the things around me, using all of my senses. Acknowledge then dismiss “her” when she tries to envade my thoughts and actions.

This is why tonight I choose to blog on my garden. I am so excited about my little bell peppers. They will be the purple variety when ripe. I never thought I would be able to grow anything, and though they are not mature yet they are on their way. My husband and I tag team watering them.

I also have an eggplant plant. Is that what it is called or is it just called eggplant without the second plant? Either way, it looks like it is getting ready to bloom. Keeping my fingers crossed for it. I have read they are heavy feeders, and I feed it Miracle Grow several times a week. Man does Miracle Grow stink. Yuck!

I had planted burpless cucumbers too but poor fellas drowned last week when I was away and we had alot of rain. The easiest plant according to all the websites was the one that died, I find that comical somehow. I was looking forward to marinated cucumbers though.

So that is all I have planted. I know that it is barely considered a garden, but I wanted to test the waters first to see if my thumb was really black. I am grateful it it partially green atleast.

If you have any good bell pepper recipes or egg plant recipes, please feel free to comment. I would love to hear them.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

4 thoughts on “In the Now

  1. I don’t care for eggplant too much, but my favorite way to cook bell peppers is with lentils. So good and hearty. I eat it as a meal all its own. I don’t use a specific recipe, but basically just cut up a bell pepper and a couple of tomatoes (to whatever proportion and amount you’re in the mood for). I’ll try to write a recipe…kind of:

    Nevermind. Found it on Allrecipes, which has contributors who write much better recipes than I. šŸ™‚

    http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Lentils-with-Tomatoes/Detail.aspx

    I think your therapist is very smart. I also think anything that grows due to your efforts, regardless of size, is your garden. I count my hydrangea, roses, wisteria, and hanging plants as a definite garden, even though they are confined to our little patio area. I’d love to have a “Monet’s Garden” one day, but right now I’m not sure I have the attention span to care for that many plants. But can you imagine? Walking into your backyard only to become immediately immersed in brilliant color and wildly-dramatic, freely-roaming foliage? I need a house…

    1. Thank you for the recipe. I love your flowers. Mother has a green thumb. Her flowers are in full bloom and and will peek out my back window and see them often. She has some of Granny’s Cherokee Rose climbing on her chain link fence, it is absolutely breath taking.

    1. I have not, I have not heard of it. I might need to look into it or discuss the technique with my therapist. Thank you so much for the suggestion.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

