Wonder Twin Powers Activate!

20130531-211556.jpg20130601-124122.jpg
Yesterday on a blog I saw a picture of Zan and Zayna, the Wonder Twins, and their amazing wonderful talented trusted monkey, Gleek.

It immediately took me back to my childhood.

Sunday evenings all of the extended family would gather here at Granny’s and it never failed we would play Super Friends. I still chuckle at the memory because the oldest cousin still claims the nickname “Wonder Woman”, because she would refuse to play unless she could be Wonder Woman, rightfully so, she earned her place.

We were a large group of cousins and played well together, but there were only so many Super Friends to go around, so I being the youngest I was always Gleek (my brother had not made his grand entrance into the world yet). Whew, I might have needed to share my Gleekdom.

It’s funny, I do not remember the roles anyone else picked, except Wonder Woman, but I remember we always had so much fun. I have the most amazing family. My cousins really were Super Friends.

There was one other game that I remember. This makes me crack up. Donny Osmond was really popular at the time. We would pretend that one of my male cousins was Donny and chase him through the yard screaming like crazy fans. Oh Donny! “And they call it puppy love…”

I am thankful for happy memories. They help me and I hope they will convince “her” that she had a wonderful childhood.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

