TED Talk: How a Boy Became an Artist

I love this! He is so inspirational! My dear friend Bec (www.RebeccaChester.com) is an illustrator too. I love how she reaches children with her own special voice and encourages children in her own special way. I do not remember the exact quote, but Bec teaches children that art comes from the mistakes or something like that. She’ll have to clarify the exact wording.

I know we are often so hard on ourselves and there is beauty in imperfection!!

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

3 thoughts on “TED Talk: How a Boy Became an Artist

  1. So inspiring! And thank you so much for such kind words. I can’t really remember what exactly I say to the kids either, but it’s basically that mistakes are necessary for growth. I don’t give them erasers or pencil sharpeners, so if they make a “mistake” they have to figure out what to do with it. There’s no such thing as perfection in art, and every mistake leads to discovery if you let it. I think this is true in life, too. The bumps and (what seemed at the time to be) wrong turns in my life have led me to where I am, and I’m grateful for them. Love you!

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

