Daily Prompt: Kindness, Through A Daughter’s Eyes

When I think of kindness, I think of one lady. This woman emulates the Savior in her efforts to love an serve people. I can only wish to have inherited a drop of her charity. Yes, I am talking of my Mother.

The constant ringing of her home and cell phone from those who need a listening ear, a drive to town, a name on the prayer roll, whatever the task, she does it, and often feeling like she does not do enough. She is often visiting the needy and shut-ins, and calling them to make sure they are okay and let them know they are not forgotten.

Taking care of family members, including myself who have physical and emotional problems, also fills her plate. Her pay, jewels in her eternal crown, and love from those she serves…and exhaustion, but she keeps on going. The energizer bunny has nothing on my little Mother.

She does not serve only those she knows. She does not meet a stranger. If she sees a need, she reaches out and offers assistance. The other day we were out of town for one of my doctor appointments as we were driving through the parking lot I hear Mother say, “Woops, oh no! Bless her heart.” She quickly pulled over, and hurried out of the van to help a little lady who had tripped on the sidewalk.

Her prayers are filled with requests for opportunities to serve, and when one is placed before her, she answers the call.

She has the patience of Job. She has needed it with me. With my health problems and my mental goliaths, I have not always been the easiest daughter. A few years back I had a ten and a half week long migraine, during that time I stayed with my parents. Some days I was so weak, in pain, and medicated that I could not feed or use the toilet by myself. Never once did she make me feel like a burden. We actually started calling their place my summer home because my major medical problems always happened in the summer and I would live with them while recovering.

I could go on and on about how great she is, but I do not want to be boastful. I am just very humbly grateful that I have such an amazing example of kindness and charity in my life and I get to call her Mother.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Kindness, Through A Daughter’s Eyes

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

