Daily Prompt: Sir, I Promise I Am Not Hitting On You But…

Daily Prompt: Trains, Planes, and Automobiles
You’re going on a cross-country trip. Airplane, train, bus, or car? (Or something else entirely — bike? Hot air balloon?)

Tonight’s post is going to combine the humor and the daily post. I am exhausted. I had a very intense therapy session, it was good work, hard work, but I am exhausted tonight. Hopefully my mind can relay the story that came to mind when I read today’s prompt.

When I moved to Utah, we drove. Not to offend anyone from Kansas, but after that trip, I wondered why Dorothy wanted to leave Oz to go back. The road we drove was miles and miles of nothing. I mean NOTHING. I remember the sign that said, gas up now, because you are leaving civilization and will not be returning for what seems like days. Okay, a little bit exaggerated, but not much. I was really worried at times that we were going to live Children of the Corn. Oh, I did not mention this was day three of our journey. The first night my cousin who was driving, turned down the Days Inn, for another motel, I will never forget the name KS Motel (because if you say it fast it sounded like KISS MY TAIL). This lovely hotel was two dollars cheaper than Days, but the rooms in back had nice red porch lights. Yeah, four squeaky clean Mormon “kids” in the motel with stained sheets and towels and red light special. I “slept” fully clothed, including my shoes. I would not bathe in the or use the bathroom there. I hate public bathrooms, but I was so happy to see McDonalds the next morning. Closer to our destination, Colorado I believe, my other cousin left her purse in a restroom. When we realized it we called and amazingly a worker had found it, turned it in. When she received the purse in the mail, all her money was gone.

Cross country driving though fun, has its challenges. I just took you on a journey around my elbow to get to my nose, to tell the story I really wanted to tell.

I had flown home to see my niece for the first time, but my week was up and it was time to head back to Utah. I boarded my Delta flight in the Hartsfield international Airport in Atlanta. The tears had finally stopped. My eyes were burning and I was about to get out rewetting solution for my contacts, when all of a sudden my right eye went really blurry. I knew what had happened. My contact had popped out.

I closed that eye and looked with my one good eye, but could not see the MIA contact anywhere. I discretely felt over myself to see if I could feel it. I did not wear disposable. I was practically blind, when asked to read the letters on the wall I said, what letters. They said to come forward until I could see the E, I ran into the wall. True story.

So, back on the plane. In the seat beside me is the nicest looking BIG black man. I look at him, with my right eye closed, I am sure he thought I was winking at him. I said, “Sir, I promise I am not coming onto you, but my contact came out. Do you see it on me anywhere?”

He laughed and proceeded to look me up and down, down and up. He became excited all of a sudden and raised his hand to point but quickly stopped himself. “It is where your leg meets the rest of your body.”

Yes, my contact had decided it would make itself cozy “where my leg meets the rest of my body.” I quickly retrieved it, and wet it and put it back in my eye. My new friend and I had a nice talk the rest of the trip, well most of it. As we were coming into Salt Lake the turbulence was so bad that I started getting sick. Green. He mentioned me looking green. I let him know that I felt like I was going to be sick, he goes to digging in our seats for barf bags, none. He laughed and said, “Oh no, barf bag.” Next thing I know, I have four in my face. Two from behind, two from in front. I grabbed one just in time. My friend grabbed the other, I ended up needing two.

That poor guy. Imagine the stories he shared about the crazy lady he sat by.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

