Laughing Felt So Great!

Therapy went well today. My husband went with me.  Our special assignment spending the day together enjoying one another’s company, and staying in the now.

Our first stop was Arby’s and then following the doctor’s orders we drove out to the beach. My husband asked if I was sure I wanted to do that as he looked up at the sky. Dark, dark clouds gathered around.

I reminded him that I was not made of sugar.  He said he was made of salt, and might melt. As we drove over the causeway, you could see the rain hammering the island next to the one we were getting on. I used his camera to take a picture.

Rain over Jekyll 7-11

 

When we got to the Village, the wind was blowing and he asked again. “Honey, are you sure?” Pointing at the palm trees whipping in the wind in front of the car.  I was.  He mentioned about us ending up in Kansas.  I mentioned about the possibility of seeing a water spout or something, or ending maybe ending up in eternity. I kind of felt like Bella in Twilight needing a rush to feel alive. The sting of the wind and the possibility of getting caught in a storm made me made me feel that way today.  I had my Edward/Jacob combo with me, so I was fine.

Just when we sat down and pulled out Arby’s meal the rain came. So did my laughter. That wave of rain did not last long. We did not melt.  I continued to laugh.  Everything was sort of funny from then on.

One point I nearly jumped in excitement.  I have lived here most of my life, and for as long as I can remember I have never seen a dolphin off the pier at St. Simons. I saw the fin, did a double take, then told my husband to look, and he saw it too. It was a huge dolphin.  I think Flipper himself came to visit.  It was a tender mercy to me. I wish I could have gotten a picture of it.

As I started taking pictures of the waves the bottoms fell out of the clouds above us. It was not just a few drops. We are talking torrential. IT WAS GREAT! I laughed like a child, I must admit it was at my husband’s expense.  Poor guy, no matter where he stood, he got drenched!!  I think he is still wet and it is several hours later.

Part of me wanted to get out and dance around singing the silly song…

If all the raindrops
Were lemon drops and gumdrops
So what a rain that would be

Standing outside with my mouth open wide
Ah, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah, ah

If all the raindrops
Were lemon drops and gumdrops
Oh, what a rain that would be.”

I wonder how many people would have joined in.

Then again, since I had just came from therapy, I figured.  I better not.  My husband might call my therapist and try to have me committed.  I did enjoy the rain ALOT while we could.

I wanted to enjoy the storm longer, but others enjoyed it by smoking, and I cannot be around cigarette smoke. Boooo. Migraine trigger. So we headed to the car. Laughing as we went. We are at the beach, people are in swimsuits running as fast as they can to their cars, and here I am fully clothed enjoying strolling along! People are funny.

Speaking of funny.  This is a classic.  We pulled over to take a picture of this sign.  It cracks me up every time I see it.

Funny Sign-Weenie Wagon 7-1

So after a perfect day, rain included, what have I been singing all evening?

 

 

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

