Independence Day, and Other Thoughts

When I was in the second grade my class made a video “This Is My Country.” I remember clearly the red, white, and blue striped shirt I wore.

We marched out of our school doors singing. We sang our little second grade hearts out.

This is my country
Land of my birth
This is my country
Grandest on Earth

This is my country
Land of my choice
This is my country
Hear my proud voice.

I pledge thee my allegiance
America the bold
For this is my country
To have and to hold

We sang it marching around the school. When that song finished we started singing “God Bless America”

God bless America,
Land that I love,
Stand beside her and guide her
Thru the night with a light from above;

From the mountains, to the prairies,
To the oceans white with foam,
God bless America,
My home, sweet home.
God bless America,
My home, sweet home.

By the time we finished God Bless America we had reached the map of the United States that was painted on the asphalt beside the playground. Each of us had a state to stand on, I do not remember mine, but for some reason I think it was one of the Dakotas. Once everyone was in place, we sang “This Land Is Your Land This Land Is My Land”.

This land is your land
this land is my land
from California
to the New York Island
from the redwood forest
to the gulf stream water
this land was made for you and me

As I went walking
that ribbon of highway
I saw above me that endless skyway
I saw below me that golden valley
This land is made for you and me

I roamed and rambled
and followed my footsteps
O’er the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts
While all around me a voice was sounding, saying
This land was made for you and me

Then some of the cub scouts brought out the flag, and we sang the “Star Spangled Banner”

Oh, say can you see by the dawn’s early light
What so proudly we hailed at the twilight’s last gleaming?
Whose broad stripes and bright stars thru the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watched were so gallantly streaming?
And the rocket’s red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.
Oh, say does that star-spangled banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?

I wish I had a copy of the video. I think I am remembering the order of the songs. The video is probably long gone, that was the days of Beta-max type video, even before VHS. I think our little video won district.

More than that we learned songs that stayed with us for a long time, hopefully developed a love for our country that lasted longer than that.

I am grateful to be an American. I am grateful to those who have fought past and present to keep me free. I recognize freedom is anything but free. It is full of sacrifices. Men and women in the military, their families, and those that are willing to speak up for those things that are not in line with what this great nation was founded upon.

I have sent many letters to my senators and congressmen to let my voice be heard. If you feel passionately about something that is going on in your local, state, or national government let your voice be heard. Also let them know that you will speak with your vote.

The America that I sang about as a 2nd grader is not the same America that we live in today, but as We The People voice our convictions and stand by who we are our beloved America can be that way again.

I love our flag I think it is so beautiful, in meaning and look. I love this nation. It is my home.

20130704-194350.jpg

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

One thought on “Independence Day, and Other Thoughts

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

