Wishful Wednesday: Honeymoon Again Please?

20130717-105543.jpg

Eight years and one month ago my husband and I were spending our first days of marriage in a cabin in Helen, Georgia. Chimney 5 was the name of our cabin. It was so romantic. Since we do not drink, the owners had sparkling cider waiting for us when we arrived. It would have been chilled, but we got lost, very lost, and made several detours!

My bucket list includes returning to our cabin, hopefully sooner rather than later. We had so many fun times there and so much laughter. Hours and hours just getting to know each other as husband and wife. Very happy memories. Makes me think of the quote by Thomas S Monson, “God gives us memories to be June roses in the Decembers of our lives.”

This was the first place I cooked for him as his wife, Chicken Echilladas. We bought our first set of Lock N Lock in Helen, we had never seen it before. We love the stuff now!

We could have lived in the jacuzzi. It is in a screened in porch and overlooks the valley. It is so beautiful, relaxing, and romantic. We have both said we want one, eight years later we are still wanting.

I look forward to the day that we can go back to our cabin and Helen. There are several reasons. First and greatest, it will mean I have healed enough to be intimate with my husband. Second, we will be better off financially. Third, I have wanted to go back since the day we left. Forth, I want to actually spend some time in the village of Helen, and in nature too. We spent almost all of our time in the cabin when we went for our honeymoon. I am sure if I sat here I could come up with many many more reason that this is a perfect bucket list item for me!

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

3 thoughts on “Wishful Wednesday: Honeymoon Again Please?

  1. My husband and I would also love to go back to the Bed-n-Breakfast we spent our honeymoon at in Lake George, NY! We just celebrated three years on May 28th. However, we now live at least 27 hours (driving) from there so with money, time (especially now that he’s active duty Army), and finances it just hasn’t worked out for us yet! Your honeymoon sounds like wonderful memories. 🙂

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

