Take A Look Thursday: Take Me To The River

20130718-204532.jpg
The Altamaha River carried many a pine tree to the coast. The Gulf Mist, a paddle wheel log boat, was piloted by my grandfather. My Daddy was tasked with starting the pumps every morning to raise her up out of the water. She sank many many years ago. Her wreckage sits off to the side of the Altamaha just past the Rayonier Pulp Mill.

20130718-205652.jpg
Rayonier. As a child I thought it was the Love Boat docked on the river at night because of all the lights and the shape. The smell…if you have never had the priviledge of smelling a pulp mill plant, what a treat you are missing. I would tell my family that the mill “pooted”.

20130718-205150.jpg
This is the remains of the old dock at Jaycee Landing.

20130718-205247.jpg
At Jaycee Landing looking towards Hwy 84. The Bridge is just around the bend.

20130718-205412.jpg
Same view less moss and tree.

20130718-205444.jpg
Boaters heading up river.

Seeing the river and thinking about what it means has made me want to look up stories of the raft hands days and the days that Granddaddy piloted. I think that is what I am going to do with the rest of my night.

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

