Silly Saturday: Are You On Vacation?

This week my husband and I went to the local Chinese buffet.  We have gone many times before and usually talk to the same Chinese  young man there.  He is very friendly and smiles and nods repeatedly with his broken English.

The last time we went my husband and I noticed a wasp nest over the sidewalk, and me being the amateur photographer nut that I am, decided that I would take a picture of it next time we came.  So we stood outside with me dancing around, hoping to get a descent photo of the nest.  These look VERY amateur.  I am still learning the telephoto.

7-20 Big Wasp Nest 2 7-20 Big Wasp Nest up on the Side Walk Roof

As part of my therapy, since I am having a difficult time being intimate, I figured this would be a great chance for us to go back and really date.  I asked my hubby some getting to know you questions and then some questions on getting to know your spouse better.  We had a great conversation, and so much laughter too!

When he came back from getting another plate, just like a teenager, I had my camera waiting.

7-20 Date Night 5

 

I took several pictures of him and his meal.  🙂  He was such a good sport!

When we went to check out, our Chinese friend asked, “You vacation?”

We thought he was referring to the fact that we had not been in several weeks, so my husband said, “No, we no have money, just haven’t been in.”  As he moved his fingers back  and forth as if to communicate money.  I thought it was cute how we try to communicate as simple as possible, and sound like the Indians in old western movies in the process.

“No, no, no. I see camera. And you take pictures. Thought you vacation.”

I just laughed and explained about the wasp nest, and my love of pictures, and we told him next time that I would take his picture.  He seemed very excited about that.

“Okay, okay!  Yeah next time you take my picture!”

 

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

