Mayberry Monday: Little House for A Short Lady

One of my all time favorite series portrays the life of Laura Ingalls Wilder and her family, yes, Little House on the Prairie. I can not count the number of times I have watched the series all the way through.

Ironically I always learned about the actors and how their lives were joined, such as Laura and Wille were brother and sister in real life, twins played Carrie, and Andrew and Albert were brothers. Until today I never looked into the life of the real Laura Ingalls Wilder.

Half-pint? The name gives it away, but she was tiny, 4’9″ tiny, Almanzo towered over her at 5’3″. I do not know why that shocked me, I suppose that we see the actors as the people they portray.

My favorite episodes were when Laura and Manly started courting.

This clip though, made me cry.

Do you have a favorite Little House?

Homestead

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

4 thoughts on “Mayberry Monday: Little House for A Short Lady

  1. My favorites are those, too, and the ones where Mary and Adam have the blind school. I also love the first Christmas episode, where Mr. Edwards treks through the snow to be Santa for the kids, and the one where Laura runs away to the mountain top, convinced she’s the reason her newborn baby brother died. I kind of love them all. Charles Ingalls always reminded me of my dad.

  2. And I didn’t realize Laura and Manly were that small either! Wow. And I’d forgotten that Albert died. You made me cry. I don’t remember everything or even why he was sick, and I can’t go back and watch the whole episode, because I won’t be able to get any work done. 😛 But I did look at a “where are they now?” clip, and it’s amazing how many of the main cast died of cancer in reality from the late 80’s to early 2000’s.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

