Family Relationships

Right now I am listening to 80s music on the TV contemplating complicated relationships.

I am so grateful for the family that I was blessed to be born into. They are so delightfully normal. Yes, we have our mental health issues, our quarrels, our whatevers, but we are always there for each other no matter what. Whether we agree or disagree with choices, we are the biggest supporters and cheerleaders. I can pick up the phone at anytime and call anyone one of them, and know that I will get someone who loves me, that will laugh with me or cry with me, or both. If I need to run away from life their doors are always open. Home is with my family.

I thought this is what being a part of a family is. I have learned through my years of growing up that my family is the exception, not the rule. How blessed I am, to have my family.

Days of love, honor, respect, and gratitude towards parents long gone. Then there are parents who abuse and neglect their children, or at the very least let the system raise them. Generation upon generation speaking and doing all manner of vulgarities around their forming minds, then wondering why those children act out. To be apart of such a family is like taking me and putting me on another planet, I feel like a stranger in a foreign land. I do not know how to react or interact.

There is so much more that I want to type about the matter. So much more, but reason and not reacting in haste stops me. So I speak vaguely. I am just really aggravated and really grateful at the same time.

I am thankful for my husband, parents, siblings, and extended family by birth!!!

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

