Mutts and More Monday: National Dog Day

I cannot believe I failed to mark my calendar, August 26, 2013, there it is National Dog Day.

Being an avid dog lover, I had no idea there was such a day until signing onto Facebook and seeing mingled with all the back to school photos, pictures of dogs. At first I thought it was a message from fur-moms like myself, maybe showing their fur-babies going to obedience school or something, but then I read National Dog Day 2013. I was intrigued.

I know we have days out there for everything, like tomorrow is National Hotdog Day, no, not on my calendar. I just ran across this when researching the history of National Dog Day.

Surprisingly, National Dog Day has been around since 2004. It began as a day to raise awareness of pets in shelters, and organizations like Petfinder. So many dogs, and other animals are senselessly killed every day. Rescue organizations save as many as they can, but cannot save them all. Today is their day, to be remembered, and hopefully find forever families waiting.

I have mentioned before that both my Enos and Roscoe where rescues. Enos was on the way to the pound that day. I am not sure how long before they would have taken Roscoe. My sister adopted her little one off of Petfinder. He is such a sweet loveable little guy.

Many communities have adoption and fostering opportunities for pets. If you are on Facebook you can also check to see if your community has a furbaby group. There are often opportunities to do very temporary foster, helping vet, pet give aways, or adoptions. Either way, if you love pets, you could be saving the life of an innocent and recieving years of unconditional love in return.

Our babies bring us so much joy and I am pretty sure we bring them alittle in return. As I write this Enos is asleep across my lap.

In honor of National Dog Day, I went to YouTube and found some funny and a couple touching dog videos. Enjoy!

About Hope

I am forty year old survivor and a five year old victim of sexual abuse. I live with severe depression and anxiety, and in 2013 was diagnosed with DID and PTSD. My journey is to reintegrate my alter and the adult me into a whole person, healthy person, and one that can empathize with others.

3 thoughts on “Mutts and More Monday: National Dog Day

  1. Sweet stories! And the trampoline dogs are great, haha. Last night, Jon told M that it was National Dog Day just to torture her. She’s dying for a pet, and he loves to show her pictures of cute puppies. We’ll eventually get a dog (and a cat!), but right now the pet fees at our apt complex are too high.

I would love to hear your thoughts. Please leave a reply.

